Weekly Hidden Gems: Chastity Belt, Twiggy, Tommy James and the Shondells

This week I’ve written a quick and easy read that will introduce 3 different bands/artists. I write these every week for all of you, who like myself, burn through music pretty quickly, or just like to discover new music and keep a variety in your playlist. This weeks Weekly Hidden gem just further displays my diverse taste of music. As most as you know I love music of all walks of life. Though I do lean more towards stuff that was produced even before my parents were born, I still enjoy modern indie/alternative, 80s pop, etta james blues, soul- you get the idea.

Twiggy

Image result for twiggy rare

I was like you when I first saw Twiggy’s name pop up under a song on spotify- my first though was that this was some other gal that goes under the nickname. But yes! The model Twiggy was also a singer! Though her singing career wasnt nearly as successful as her modelling, she still produced some good feel good songs. My favorite song she sings is a cover of ‘Ruby Tuesday’.  She also had a good voice, proving that she was far more than just a pretty face!

Chastity Belt

Image result for chastity belt band

This all girl group sure knows how to rock! Founded in 2013, it contains Julia Shapiro, Lydia Lund,  Annie Truscott, and Gretchen Grimm. Their music is definitely in the alternative/indie rock genre. They make you either want to get up and dance or mellow out and chill. This is one band deserving a second listen! Some great songs to get you started are ‘Seattle Party’ and ‘Time to Go Home’.

Tommy James and the Shondells

Image result for tommy james and the shondells

This bands from my home state, Michigan! They’ve always dotted my playlists with hits like ‘Do Something to Me’, ‘Crimson and Clover’, etc, but i’ve just started to dig deeper into their music. Their music is typical 60’s rock ‘n roll, pop rock and psychedelic rock, but catchy nonetheless. Tommy James and the Shondells are a necessity for any 60s playlist!

Leave a Reply

